Breaking News :

Robert Lewandowski beats Lionel Messi, equals Cristiano Ronaldo record with second award

Bayern Munich forward Robert Lewandowski equaled Cristiano Ronaldo’s FIFA The Best record when he won the award for a second time on Monday.

The Bayern Munich forward retained his FIFA The Best award following an incredible campaign in which he scored a Bundesliga record 41 goals, fighting off competition from Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah.

Paris Saint-Germain forward Lionel Messi, the 2019 winner, failed to add to his 2021 Ballon d’Or award as he concluded second, with Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah in third place. Barcelona midfielder Alexia Putellas won the women’s award.

Chelsea manager Thomas Tuchel defeated Italy’s Roberto Mancini and Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola to win the Manager of the Year award following success in the Champions League in 2021.

Chelsea and Senegal’s Edouard Mendy won the Goalkeeper of the Year award ahead of Gianluigi Donnarumma and Manuel Neuer, while Sevilla forward Erik Lamela won the Puskas Award for his “Rabona” for Tottenham Hotspur versus Arsenal.

Denmark team and staff won the Fair Play award following their reaction to Christian Eriksen’s cardiac arrest at Euro 2020.

Denmark and Finland fans also received the Best Fan award for their spontaneous unified chanting in support of Eriksen after he was taken off the pitch.

The award was first handed out in its present guise in 2016, after FIFA ended their five-year partnership with the Ballon d’Or. Ronaldo, who was given a special award for breaking the international men’s goal scoring record in 2021, won back-to-back awards in the first two years.

Read Previous

FIFA recognizes Canada captain Christine Sinclair for record goal-scoring

Read Next

Aston Martin name Mike Krack as new team principal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Warning: Unknown: write failed: No space left on device (28) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct (/var/lib/php/sessions) in Unknown on line 0