• July 30, 2021

Peixin Liu Wins Mid-States Poker Tour Season 5

Check Regal Poker for Latest Poker News, tips and more.
Mid-States Poker Tour returned to its home state for the last stop of the season, Season 5 began way back in February at Running Aces Harness Park in Minnesota and saw Peixin Liu reach the final table.
This time Liu finished on top claiming $106,483 for defeating a field of 432 at MSPT Canterbury Park. It was Liu’s first MSPT title and the biggest live score of his poker career.
Regal Poker is the Poker Online website, visit us and check out our promotions we offer you the best online poker bonus.
Ninety-three runners returned for Day 2 on Sunday to compete for the final MSPT trophy of the year, and 45 would be paid for their efforts. Plenty of notables failed to reach the money including Todd Breyfogle, Jon Hanner, Tony Hartmann, Matt Alexander, Adam Dahlin, Jeremy Dresch, and Kou Vang. By failing before the money, Vang fell just shy of the necessary points needed to overtake Mike Deis for MSPT Player of the Year.
The bubble burst in spectacular fashion when tournament veteran Everett Carlton bluffed off his stack to Day 1 chip leader Rodney Colson. Once the payouts began, players quickly began falling by the wayside. Dennis Stevermer, Aaron Johnson, Jeff Bryan, Ken Pates, Jeff Fielder, Matt Kirby, and Nick Pupillo were among the players scoring cashes on their ways out the door. When Tom Stambaugh was eliminated just after the start of Level 26 (20,000/40,000/5,000), the final table was set with Yevgeniy Minakrin in the lead with more than 2.1 million.
Looking for best online poker game website? Follow us and check out our promotions we offer you  the best online poker bonus.
Colson, who was at one point the overwhelming leader in the early stages of Day 2, found himself out in 10th when he lost against Peixin Liu . Zeph Baer, Rich Alsup, Mark Hodge, and John Pierce followed in short order in ninth through sixth, respectively, in a furious opening hour at the final table. Liu had emerged as the leader at that point with 2.5 million at the start of Level 28 (30,000/60,000/10,000). Minakrin was the short stack, but he won a flip against  Leo Fussy, rendering Fussy short, and he busted a short time later in fifth. Things finally slowed down during four-handed play, as it took an hour and a half of battling over mostly small pots before Minakrin fell in fourth.  Wilson did the deed once more to send John Reading packing in third.
Liu and Wilson entered heads-up play very close to even, and they battled it out for an hour. With that, the 2014 MSPT season came to a close, crowning Liu as the final champion. The MSPT is done for the year, but Season 6 is coming up quick. It will kick off at a brand new stop — BestBet Jacksonville — on Jan. 15, 2015, with their $200,000 guarantee Main Event taking place from Jan. 23-25.
Final Table Results

Place Player Prize
1 Peixin Liu $106,483
2 James Wilson $61,473
3 John Reading $37,509
4 Yevgeniy Minakrin $30,215
5 Leo Fussy $23,576
6 John Pierce $19,796
7 Mark Hodge $15,837
8 Rich Alsup $12,086
9 Zeph Baer $8,335
10 Rodney Colson $5,418

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

Steve Carr

Read Previous

Poker strategy: Betting Basics Side Pots

Read Next

Online Poker Dictionary: Slow Play

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *