• August 1, 2021

Omar Zazay Wins 2015 SHRPO Main Event

Check Regal Poker for Latest Poker News, poker strategy tips and more.
(pokernews.com)- On Tuesday, the 2015 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open, in conjunction with Poker Night in America, live streamed an unprecedented four final tables at the same time. One of those final tables was SHRPO $5,000,000 Guaranteed Freezeout Main Event, a tournament that had a slight overlay as it attracted 907 players, 93 players shy of meeting the guarantee.
The top 150 players earned a minimum payday of $7,500, but the marquee $1,000,000 first-place prize ended up being awarded to Omar Zazay, who defeated local poker dealer Brian Phillis in an epic heads-up battle. What’s more, the duo managed to outlast the defending champion, Daniel Colman, who saw his title defense come to an end in third place for $310,000.
At Regal Poker you will find the best articles about how to play poker, visit us and check out
“It was a really long journey – a four-day tournament and I was just trying to take stay focused and take it one step at a time,” Zazay told SHRPO officials after the win. “Getting down three-handed with Dan Colman was definitely a sticky situation. I had him on my right so I had a little edge on him. I was trying to do the best I could against him and not give him chips so he could use them against me. I picked my spots well. The heads-up was a lot going on. I know I really wanted this title so I tried my best to win. I think he had me at almost a 3-to-1 chip advantage. I just took it one hand at a time and slowly edged my way to the win. ”
Prior to the win Zazay had $323,469 in live tournament earnings, with his best cashing being $82,779 for a third-place finish in the 2014 Card Player Poker Tour Durant Main Event. Other notable cashes included runner-up finishes in the 2013 Choctaw Poker Classic $1,100 Platinum Event for $64,084 and 2014 World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic $1,100 No-Limit Hold’em for $33,440.
Final Table Results

Place Player Hometown Prize
1 Omar Zazay Richardson, TX $1,000,000
2 Brian Phillis Boynton Beach, FL $575,000
3 Dan Colman Holden, TX $310,000
4 Larry Mocchia Pembroke Pines, FL $220,000
5 Randy Pfeifer Lancaster, NY $180,000
6 Joey Couden Blacklick, OH $150,000
7 Vladislav Mezheritsky Aventura, FL $125,000
8 Paul Volpe West Chester, PA $100,000
9 Rick Alvarado Las Vegas, NV $75,000

According to updates from the event, the first final table elimination occurred on Hand #24 in Level 27 (40,000/80,000/10,000) when Larry Mocchia, a local player who qualified for the tournament via a $140 Step Satellite, raised to 240,000 from the hijack and then called when Rick Alvarado moved all in for 960,000 from the button.
Phillis earned $575,000 for his runner-up finish while Zazay took down the $1 million first-place prize as well as the SHRPO Championship trophy.
“It’s an amazing feeling,” Zazay said after the win. “This is very huge for me. It’s been a lot of hard work. I played a lot of poker and come up short lots of times and feel like I can do better so it’s good to accomplish a big title under my belt.”
Zazay added: “The Hard Rock did a great job setting up a big event like this. It was a huge success. All the players are happy and everyone that played got their money’s worth and I hope they do it again.”
Don’t miss our special articles about Texas Hold’em and blackjack, become the best player that you can be! Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

Steve Carr

Read Previous

How To Use VPIP and PFR

Read Next

What Pocket Pair Are?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *