• July 30, 2021

Anthony Zinno Crowned WPT Season XIII Player of the Year

Check Regal Poker for Latest Poker News, poker strategy tips and more.
(pokernews.com) Anthony Zinno is the Hublot World Poker Tour Season XIII Player of the Year.
During Day 2 action of the 2015 World Poker Tour World Championship at Borgata in Atlantic City, Darren Elias was eliminated from action. While this event has undoubtedly happened thousands of times for Elias, the elimination this time led to something greater.
With his bust, Zinno officially locked up WPT Player of the Year honors.
Zinno’s WPT season was one for the record books. He entered the final event with 2,056.15 points thanks to a plethora of top performances. After previously winning the 2013 Borgata Poker Open last season, Zinno added not just one, but two more titles this season, winning the 2015 Fallsview Poker Classic and the 2015 L.A Poker Classic in back-to-back performances. To add to that, he cashed five other times, earning finishes of 12th, 23rd, 23rd, 27th, and 65th.
At Regal Poker you will find the best articles about how to play poker, visit us and check out our promotions we offer you the best online poker games.
Entering the final event, the WPT World Championship, Zinno held a 278.3-point lead over Elias. This season, points were tabulated using the Global Poker Index formula.
Like Zinno, Elias had won two events this season. And like Zinno, his wins came in back-to-back events. First, he won the Borgata Poker Open. Then, he took down the WPT Caribbean. He also cashed six other times in WPT events, but ultimately it wasn’t enough.
Looking for best online poker game website? Follow us and check out our promotions we offer you the best online poker bonus.
Zinno joins the likes of Howard Lederer (Season I), Erick Lindgren (Season II), Daniel Negreanu (Season III), Gavin Smith (Season IV), JC Tran (Season V), Jonathan Little (Season VI), Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier (Season VII), Faraz Jaka (Season VIII), Andy Frankenberger (Season IX), Joe Serock (Season X), Matt Salsberg (Season XI), and Mukul Pahuja (Season XII) as WPT Player of the Year winners.
For the victory, Zinno will receive a custom, one-of-a-kind timepiece from Hublot, complimentary accommodation and ground transportation to and from the closest airport at any WPT Main Tour stop, and food and beverage credits for the duration of his stay at select Main Tour stops.
Don’t miss our special articles about Texas Hold’em and blackjack, become the best player that you can be! Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

Steve Carr

Read Previous

Online Poker Dictionary: Running it twice

Read Next

How to Play Blackjack Switch | Part 3